Thread: Science and Christianity

Imperfect_Imperfection Guest

Default Science and Christianity

I am a student at a technical school in the United States. All to often i see those around me claim how science has defeated religion. But how is that possible?

I personally believe that science and religion (namely Christianity) are intertwined. To be enlightened is not to have to lose faith. When i study the science of this universe, i feel closer to God. I see how he works, how he created this universe. I feel as though he reveals himself to us through science, not hides completely.

If you must remove this thread i understand, but my question is simple. Can i be a man of science and a man of God, or must i choose?

Blog Entries

Science wouldn't exist without God creating it. And God uses science to prove His existence (Rom. 1.20).

You said "to be enlightened is not to have to lose faith"? That makes no sense to me. As opposed to 'having to lose faith' to be enlightened? Silly. Perhaps you didn't mean to say what you said.

I apologize, i didn't communicate clearly what i meant. My intention was to say that there is almost a stigma that i see in the scientific community. I am lead to believe by the atheist that only the fool can believe in Christianity, and that anyone who is truly "enlightened" would see that God is nothing more than a thought created by man.

Actually, this might be a perfect question for you. What is the atmosphere of the scientific community when it comes to Christianity? Is it, as the atheist would desire, hostile and bitter towards Christianity? Or am i naive in my thinking?

Blog Entries

They are very hostile. Virtually every day I get an email from an atheist whining about this or that.

Just picture Christopher Hitchens and Bill Mahr having a conversation a few months ago on his show.